Date: December 4, 2017

Subject: Call for Fellows Nominations 2018

To: All current members of the:

QTF Fellows,

QTF Board of Directors, QTF Panel of Judges,

QTF Board of Examiners, and Texas residents on the Malcolm Baldrige Board of Examiners roster

From: Genie Dillon

### **QTF Fellows**

Dale Crownover Raymond Marlow Genie Wilson Dillon William (Bo) McBee Victor (Vic) Figurelli Joe Muzikowski Patrice (Pat) Griffith Antonio (Tony) Perez Victor (Vic) Sassone Warren Hogan Barry Johnson Paula Sommer Debra Kosarek James E. Tew Laura Longmire Robert Vokurka

It is my pleasure to initiate the annual Call for Nominations of candidates for selection as Quality Texas Foundation (QTF) Fellows. Because of your current engagement in promoting performance excellence in Texas through QTF and/or through the Baldrige National Quality Award Program, we respectfully request that you consider submitting a nomination for this prestigious award. Please review the information below and <a href="mailto:submit your nomination form by the deadline of January 15, 2018">submit your nomination form by the deadline of January 15, 2018</a> to Genie Dillon at email: <a href="mailto:gwdms@sbcglobal.net">gwdms@sbcglobal.net</a> The nomination form can be found at the following link on the Quality Texas Foundation website <a href="mailto:http://quality-texas.org/fellows/">http://quality-texas.org/fellows/</a>

Please provide as thorough information on the nomination form as possible which might include contacting your nominee to clarify their contributions.

The Quality Texas Foundation established the Fellows designation as its highest recognition of achievement for volunteers to honor their individual service and contributions to QTF. QTF Fellows are selected from the broad pool of QTF stakeholders — Recipients, Applicants, or sponsoring organizations and/or individuals who have served in multiple roles over an extended period as members of the QTF Board of Directors, Board of Examiners, Panel of Judges, Process Observers, and as members of other essential teams or committees supporting QTF or the Texas Award for Performance Excellence (TAPE).

The Fellow designation is given in recognition of outstanding, long-term service in a variety of volunteer roles that contributed substantially to the achievement of the QTF mission, vision, strategies, programs, activities, and goals, and that resulted in positive impacts/contributions to the sustainability of QTF.

# **QTF Fellow Nominee Standards/Criteria:**

- Is in good standing with QTF.
- Has been an active volunteer with QTF for at least 10 years.
- Has actively contributed or served in various QTF volunteer roles, such as foundation boards or committees over a significant portion of their service time to the QTF.
- Has made substantial contributions over a period of time that advanced the growth and professional stature of QTF.

# **QTF Fellow Designation Restrictions:**

- No more than 3 designation awards shall be given each year.
- A designation award need not be given each year.
- An individual may receive the QTF Fellow designation only once.
- An individual does not have to be an active-volunteer at the time of the designation award as long as the QTF Fellow Nominee Standards/Criteria are met.

### **Call for Fellows Nominations**

# About the Quality Texas Foundation (QTF)

In 1990 the concept of a state quality award was introduced to and supported by Governor Ann Richards. Collaborative efforts between the Governor's office, the Texas Department of Commerce, and Texas businesses made it possible to create QTF.

A committee of representatives from Texas organizations created the Texas Quality Award (now called the Texas Award for Performance Excellence (TAPE). In 1991-1992, QTF delivered quality awareness seminars to 1,800 individuals from 700 organizations.

Since inception, QTF continues to promote quality and performance excellence to organizations from all sectors. In the initial launch of the QTF Award program, primary focus was on manufacturing and small business sectors; however, today the Award is open to organizations in manufacturing, service, small business, government, education, healthcare, and nonprofit sectors.

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) had been created in 1987 under Public Law 100-107. In its first four years (1988-1991), MBNQA had selected 17 recipients, including 3 (17%) Texas organizations, Wallace Company, Houston (1990), Marlow Industries, Dallas (1991), and Texas Instruments Defense Systems & Electronics Group, Dallas (1992).

QTF first accepted applications for the 1993 award cycle. The American Productivity & Quality Center (APQC) served as the inaugural award program administrator. Currently, QTF administers the Texas Award for Performance Excellence (TAPE) program as a separate independent non-profit corporation. The first awards were presented in 1994 by Governor Ann Richards in the Governor's mansion in Austin to Texas Eastman Division Eastman Chemical and the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

#### **Accomplishments and Distinctions**

Since inception nearing our 25<sup>th</sup> year of providing services, QTF has provided systematic assessments and written feedback to 200+ Applicants for the TAPE Award and 500+ Applicants for Engagement, Commitment, and Progress level awards. QTF has trained more than 2,000 QTF Examiners in the Baldrige assessment and feedback processes. Through the 2016 MBNQA Award cycle, 20 different Texas-based organizations have been recognized as MBNQA recipients, 18% of all 106 organizations selected to receive the Award. QTF performance at producing MBNQA recipients is double the performance of the next best state program and QTF has sustained this level of market share throughout the history of the MBNQA and QTF programs.

Thank you for your engagement with QTF and for helping make possible these achievements.